The Birthday

Today’s prompt from the Daily Post is a creative writing challenge in itself. I saw it and immediately thought to myself, “I need to do that one.”

Today you can write about anything, in whatever genre or form, but your post must mention a dark night, your fridge, and tears (of joy or sadness; your call).

Trio No. 3

Friday the 13th, my birthday. I had stayed in all day, watching the sun rise and fall from within the comfort of my room. Huddled beneath my comforter I watched the day slip by, barely acknowledging my existence except for the occasional Facebook update letting me know that some friend of mine wished me a happy birthday.

That night when I finally could not take it any longer I left my bed to go and soak in the comfort of the water that had filled my tub. A blur as I went to rest my eyes with the steam gently caressing my face as I lay in the water. As I lay there tears flowed freely from my face and into the warm water that surrounded my body. Ironic that my tears of sadness would surround me physically just as my emotional feelings surrounded my mind.

Slowly I raised myself from the water and let the cool air of my apartment envelope me in its chill arms. As the water drained I could feel the water on my skin slowly dissipate and finally completely disappear leaving me alone in the chill air standing naked. I found my towel and wrapping it around myself made my way to the kitchen.

Hungry after a day of not eating and laying around in my bed, I opened my fridge to see what I had in terms of food. What I saw made me break down and fresh tears now ran down my cheeks to greet the floor. Falling to my knees I starred into the depths of the shelves, there before me in my fridge was something I did not expect. There was a box and on the side of it was a note.

“Happy Birthday my son. Have a wonderful day. Love Mom.”

One thought on “The Birthday

  1. Pingback: Acrostic Poem / Poetry – “Left Logically Yet Rightly Creative” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

