Storytelling

Prompt- What makes a good storyteller, in your opinion? Are your favorite storytellers people you know or writers you admire?

Spinning Yarns

What makes a good story teller? For me it would a mix of a few things. For one attention to the little details that seem irrelevant but actually help pull the audience deeper into the story. A witty dialogue that doesn’t just advance the story but creates a sense that the characters are aware of each other. Lastly I would say that the ability to expand on ones stories is an important aspect to me. Having the ability and knowledge to say with certainty what else is going on in the world of the book.

Who do I think possess these skills?

My first love for books Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. They wrote a fantastical series of books called the Dragonlance Chronicles. With so many books and characters it was easy to get swept up into the fantasy world they described. My name actually comes out of the book Dragons of Autumns Twilight.

George R. R. Martin I think is a author of equal caliber who while it seems kills many characters at random actually writes a book that matches closely with history. For this reason I think I enjoy his series and will keep watching the show as well.

My father while not a writer tells oral stories and weaves in my opinion very funny stories with the same attention to detail. I did a retelling of one of his stories on here. I did not do it justice but if you would like to read it follow this link.

Halibut Fishing

Orson Scott Card is the final author that I will name. His series following Ender Wiggen and then all the additional stories that occur throughout the galaxy and back on Earth were an amazing read for me. While I have not read them all I certainly am trying my very best. He was my favorite author when I was ten and first read Ender’s Game and he is still my favorite author.

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day.

3 thoughts on “Storytelling

  1. Pingback: My Top Ten Posts 2014 | thepennedjournal

Leave a Reply

