Avalanche Survival

Prompt- You were caught in an avalanche. To be rescued, you need to make it through the night. What thought(s) would give you the strength to go through such a scary, dangerous situation?

Under the Snow

So I was skiing with my family on our yearly ski trip and while I was on a trail alone an avalanche occurred and buried me in deep. I need to make it through the night and to be rescued.

Well my first thoughts would all travel towards survival. I am trapped and really can’t get out. I know that my best chance of survival is actually to stay put because rescuers will be looking at the path of the avalanche itself. Next i know that snow acts as an insulator. So naturally I am going to dig myself into my spot on the mountain. Hopefully making a cave deep and wide enough for my whole body to be inside the snow shelter and out of the wind which is more dangerous then the snow itself. Now so that I am not missed while rescuers are looking for me I place skis, poles, whatever I can spare to make a flag outside the cave entrance. After all of this work I pass out and sleep til I’m rescued except for eating the snow for nutrients.

Now what thoughts motivate me to want to live and to keep safe while being stuck on the mountain in my cave?

My thoughts would drift towards my family, my friends, even to things I regret in life that I need to fix. With family I cannot let them down, I must live and make it off all in one piece for their sake. For my friends, I am someone they all rely on and talk to. If I don’t make it off who takes my spot in their lives? Lastly things I regret. Everyone has those things that they have done and deeply regret doing. Well for me I think that while trapped some of those thoughts would come back to me and work to motivate me by having me think that I need to make it off that way I can fix them. Or at least try.

Thank you for reading, I hope none of you get caught in an avalanche. Have a wonderful rest of your day.

One thought on “Avalanche Survival

  1. Pingback: My Top Ten Posts 2014 | thepennedjournal

Leave a Reply

