First Ski Trip

Prompt- Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.

First!

First day skiing. I will remember this day for a long time mostly because the night before I was so scared I couldn’t sleep. The entire drive down I was so anxious but trying to hide it from my parents. We got to Colorado and rented the skis but we weren’t skiing yet. We got the passes and everything else ready for the trip. We would only get to ski about half a day my first time on the slopes. At ten years old I was in a state of panic and fear. Trying to hide it from my father who would be the parent taking me out to teach me. Skis on we went to the bunny slope where the lift was actually a conveyor belt of carrots that you grab to take you to the top.

That was comforting at ten. I grab the carrot it takes me up my feet stay on the ground the whole time unlike those other lifts I had passed coming over to this slope. My father ran me through a bunch of lessons on turning, stopping, and falling properly so I don’t hurt myself. After about my tenth time down the slope he claimed that I was ready for a real slope.

Now being my father he didn’t take me to a green (the easiest slopes), no he took me to a blue (the next step up). I got on the lift no problem. Now I have a fear of heights and now I was in a very massive conveyor belt high in the air with my feet dangling below me. I was extremely afraid. Therefore my first time getting off of a lift I crashed. For most skiers they know a newbie when they see one and just shrugged it off as something that happens. I was thankful for that.

Now came my first slope. With my father traveling in front of me for a ways and then turning to have me come to him I made it down safely the first time. It would take about two more slopes before I was racing my father down the slopes. He then showed me the off the main slope trails. The ones where you can see other skiers went through the trees and over jumps. At ten and still do, I love though trails. Skiing in my opinion is the best activity in the world. From my first day on I fell in love with the frozen sport.

Thank you for reading. Have a wonderful and fun filled day.

One thought on “First Ski Trip

  1. Pingback: Daily Post…First | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

