10 Year Old Me’s Dream

Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you now? Are the two connected?

When I was ten I wanted to be like my father. A rancher except with one major difference. My father raises cattle and I wanted to have sheep. I used to make drawings of what my future ranch would be and what breeds of sheep I wanted. Along with the guard dogs I would get, how I would bottle feed the abandoned lambs, etc.. I had piles of future plans and maps for my ranch. Now I work as a Hall Director at a University. The only similar thing between this and ranching is that I herd people. It’s not the same as herding livestock but some days it feels the same. My retirement dream now is to retire to Missouri and have a small acreage. 80 acres with Katahdin Sheep, a few Great Pyrenees and cats.

2 thoughts on “10 Year Old Me’s Dream

  1. Pingback: Not there yet, but almost. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

