Library Guilt

The Guilt that Haunts Me

Share a time when you were overcome with guilt. What were the circumstances? How did you overcome you guilt?

When I was about 9 or 10 years old I was reading everything in my parents library. We had about 3,000 books so I was making slow progress through the Science Fiction and Fantasy novels that I could find. If it helps the context of the story I will include that I was reading at the college level when I was in fifth grade, I think it has something to do with the fact I was reading so much at a younger age.

Well while making my way through the books I came across one that apparently my parents were using to store on hand cash. You know in case of an emergency. 10 year old me decided to take $100 out of it. I lasted about 1 day with the money. I didn’t spend any of it and while I could have went and put it back in the book, I didn’t. I actually went and gave it to my father, explaining that I took it.

Guess what, he already knew I took it. He was waiting to see what I would do with it. My guiltiest moment and he turned it into a teaching moment for me.

3 thoughts on “Library Guilt

  1. I once stole money to buy a hot dog from the school canteen, but the lie weighed so heavily on my conscience that I threw it away after just a bite. I replaced the money from my own pocket money. It was a very meagre amount: 15 rupees, but the guilt didn’t go till I confessed my sins to my father, asked for forgiveness and was promptly forgiven. My father probably thought I had already learnt my lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Un-guilty conscience. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

