Negative Friend

I think many people have a friend like the one I am about to describe. A friend whose negativity is what they are known for. A person who is living a fairly good life but somehow manages to be the absolute catalyst for feelings of negativity.

I have several friends who fall into this category, whether that is just who I seem to attract as friends or simply because I live on a college campus.

There is some variations between them and in how they are negative.

For example I am going to start with J. J is a high functioning individual who has been dating the same girl for five years. He lives comfortably in a house with his girlfriend and best friend. They all work and pay rent no problem. For the most part J plays video games about 30+ hours a week on top of working about 30 hours a week. Logging hundreds of hours into games of course he is very good at them.

Now J thinks that it is fun to introduce his friends to the same games he plays and then proceeds to tell everyone that plays with him how they are “garbage” and “trash” because they don’t know the current meta for every item in the game or the best things to do. The icing on the cake is if you introduce him to a game and therefore you have the upperhand due to practice, the game itself must be crap.

Another type of negative friend are those who have no belief in themselves at all. I have two friends who I see every single day and play games with regularly. S and C both function on this idea that they are worth less than the ground they walk on. C believes that he is incapable of anything and that he really is just a waste of oxygen. S has a little more self confidence then that but she has also started drinking heavily and falling into a different pit of despair.

It is hard being around such negativity all the time and sometimes a person just needs a break. For me I play games with my wife and with the last two people I mentioned plus other friends, for reasons the first person mentioned does not reduce stress when playing games with them.

One thought on “Negative Friend

  1. It seems that living in games for 30+ hours a week can’t be too good for one. I sometimes wonder if the problem is the games themselves or if it is a case of people with a problem being attracted to these games. Perhaps people, like the ones you describe, are trying to find their worth in such games, but part of the problem is that there isn’t really any true worth to be found because at the end of the day being good at games is just, well, being good at games.

    I knew a very negative but otherwise quite nice person a few years ago when I lived in another town. I did consider him a friend and a good one. He had a lot of good qualities and I just made it a point to not get caught up in his negativity, and tried to take the bad with the good and appreciate his many fine points.

    Like

Leave a Reply

